The Girl Factory by Karen Dietrich

This one is a memoir, I seem to be reading those lately.  I really like the voice in this story, the flow is great and I kept wanting to read more.  I grew up in a similar time period so I may have identified with it more than other readers, and even though I didn’t grow up in a factory town, I felt like I was there as I was reading.  The prose is vivid and flows very well.  It is a story of growing up, finding one’s place in the world and one’s place in their family as well.  One of the strong themes of this book is the narrator’s ( I assume the narrator is meant to be Karen at a younger age) struggle to connect with her mother.  She always seems to fall short of the connection she seeks, yet in spite of this she leaves the reader with a sense of hope and promise as the story closes.

Leave a Reply

