Wild Within: How Rescuing Owls Inspired a Family by Mellissa Hart

booksparks banner

I admit I’m a softie for animal stories which is what drew me to this book in the first place, but like most books it was so much more than a book about the work Melissa and her husband Jon have done rescuing birds.  I loved watching Melissa gently immerse herself into Jon’s volunteer work from their first date.  I loved watching her grow and challenge herself and i felt like I was right there with them as they navigated the murky waters of adoption.  I loved watching them become a team and then seeing that team get stronger as life put more and more things on their plates.  This is far more than a book about birds.  It is the story of crushed hopes, new beginnings, finding inner strength, and challenging ourselves to push our limits.

Leave a Reply

