Katrina: After the Flood by Gary Rivlin

Like most of the nation I couldn’t tear myself away from the story of Katrina and New Orleans in the summer of 2005.  I was also pregnant and constantly hot that summer so my air conditioned house had it’s perks, but I was shocked by the devastation and desperately wanted to help.  I continued to follow the storm long after it was gone as it appeared in books and television programs.  Katrina does two things I have not seen another book do yet.  It starts before the storm and follows the story for years, through rebuilding, which I know is still going on, and I know lots of things will never be the same, and it not only follows for longer, but it follows the same group of people.  Families, local business owners, political staffers.  It gives us a frank and unique look at this event that changed New Orleans and the US forever.

Leave a Reply

