Chasing Water: Elegy of an Olympian,by Anthony Ervin and Constantine Markides

As you can imagine this is a memoir of an Olympic athlete, and one that is competing in Rio.  I found Anthony’s story touching and heartfelt and I thought it was so great to be able to see into the day to day life of such a driven athlete.  I admired his goals to stay a student and finish his degree rather than become a professional athlete.  Swimming is definitely his muse and like most of us there dynamic has been rocky at times to say the least, Ervin even gave up swimming at one point only to be drawn back in and again become an Olympian.  Over the course of his journey he has learned many important truths about himself, and I enjoyed sharing that journey with him.  Can’t wait to see what happens in Rio, I hope he goes for the gold.  Thank you to the publisher AKASHIC BOOKS for my free copy so that I could provide this review.

Leave a Reply

